Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC)

Doing Business With FirstNet

Request for Proposal and other procurement information available for vendors seeking to do business with us.Learn More >>

About the FirstNet Public Safety Advisory Committee

June 2015 FirstNet Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC) Meeting
June 2015 FirstNet Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC) Meeting

Consistent with the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012, FirstNet was required to establish a Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC). FirstNet established the PSAC in February 2013 consisting of members representing all disciplines of public safety as well as state, territorial, tribal, and local governments. PSAC also has at-large members and a federal member. The mission of the PSAC is to assist FirstNet in carrying out its duties and responsibilities. Specifically, the PSAC:

  • Offers FirstNet guidance, information, and subject matter expertise from a public safety perspective to ensure that user needs, requirements, and public safety operational capabilities are included in the network
  • Provides subject matter expertise on concepts (e.g., policies, procedures, technologies, operational methods developed by FirstNet
  • Advises FirstNet through the creation of initial documents, plans, or reports related to the build-out, deployment, and operation of a nationwide public safety broadband network (NPSBN). The PSAC reports include subject matter related to shared intergovernmental responsibilities or administration.
  • Conducts regular meetings to remain informed and up to date on FirstNet’s progress

Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC) Meeting, June 6, 2016

PSAC Membership

  1. American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials, Paul J. Steinman
  2. Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials-International, Brent Lee
  3. American Public Works Association, Philip R. Mann
  4. Forestry Conservation Communications Association, Lloyd Mitchell
  5. Governors Homeland Security Advisors Council, Guy Cameron
  6. Interagency Board, Capt. Christopher Lombard
  7. International Association of Chiefs of Police, Chief Harlin McEwen
  8. International Association of Emergency Managers, Joseph R. Sastre
  9. International Association of Fire Chiefs, Chief Gary McCarraher
  10. International City/County Management Association, Mark L. Ryckman
  11. International Justice and Public Safety Network, Steve Correll
  12. International Municipal Signal Association, Paul Szoc
  13. Major Cities (Police) Chiefs Association, Scott Edson
  14. Major County Sheriffs’ Association, Mel Maier
  15. Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association, Chief Niles Ford
  16. National Association of Counties, Len Humphries
  17. National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians, Don Lundy
  18. National Association of Regional Councils, Steve Cassano
  19. National Association of State Chief Information Officers, Darryl Ackley
  20. National Association of State EMS Officials, Paul R. Patrick
  21. National Association of State 9-1-1 Administrators, Richard Taylor
  22. National Association of State Technology Directors, Charlie Sasser
  23. National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors, Barry Fraser
  24. National Congress of American Indians, Dennis Dyer
  25. National Criminal Justice Association, John M. Sweeney
  26. National Conference of State Legislatures, Daniel A. Eaton
  27. National Council of Statewide Interoperability Coordinators, Todd Early
  28. National Emergency Management Association, Jeff Stern
  29. National EMS Management Association, Jonathan Olson
  30. National Emergency Number Association, Trey Forgety
  31. National Governors Association, Jimmy Gianato
  32. National League of Cities, Tony Anderson
  33. National Public Safety Telecommunications Council, Chief Douglas Aiken
  34. National Sheriffs’ Association, Sheriff Larry D. Amerson
  35. National Volunteer Fire Council, Chief Reid Vaughan
  36. SEARCH, National Consortium of Justice Information Statistics, Michael Jacobson
  37. U.S. Conference of Mayors, Tom Sorley
  38. At Large, SAFECOM Executive Committee, Vacant
  39. At Large, Fire Non-Management First Line Responder, Vacant
  40. At Large, Police Non-Management First Line Responder, Vacant
  41. At Large, Police Non-Management First Line Responder, James N. Mann
  42. Federal, FirstNet, Vicki Lee

PSAC Meeting Summaries and Reports

Go to top